About Me

(in about 536 words)

Intro

I am a Full Stack Engineer based in Paris, France specialising in developing platforms and pipelines for machine learning based systems. I also have a keen interest in data driven front-end development. I have been a passionate developer since 2015, and have since completed my masters in machine learning and data mining.
While I might not be available for freelance work at the moment, I am always open to new ideas with a great social impact, and I would love to be part of a team that would bring an innovative idea to reality.
I firmly believe that we can build a sustainable, environmentally friendly future through the proper use of technology.

Currently

At AZmed, I have learned how to build impactful and innovative applications, and to manage the deployment and scaling of software in distributed architectures. I have also learned how to build partnerships with people across the globe.
At AZMed, we developed Rayvolve, an AI driven diagnostic tool for medical radiography, which is the first French CE-marked medical device in its category.



Some history

  • I first saw a computer (at that time, a wierd looking TV) around 1994, at an exhibition at the university where my father worked.

  • I got my first PC in 2009, when I was already 19. My first phone, a Nokia feature phone, followed next year, which sadly meant that I had completely missed the SMS era. Alas!

  • I made my first contribution to wikipedia about a Remote sub-railway station in 2012 (Attention, the timetable is not upto date!), the first of many.

  • I also started translating open-source software around this time.

  • At 23, despite graduating in IT Management, I grew an interest in front-end development, and created my first GUI using visual basic.

  • At 24, I completed my first freelance web project.

  • By 2015, at 25, I was a full time web developer.

  • Switched to remote working for a couple of years starting from 2015, well before it became the norm.

  • By 2017, I was a full time iOS developer.

  • In 2019, I graduated with a masters degree in machine learning.

  • Got interested in dev-ops during my time at AZMed from 2019, I've never looked back since.

You can ask me in person for other stories that I'm afraid to share with the internet.

I like

  • Paleontology
  • Ornithology
  • Politics
  • Photography
  • Good beer
  • Travelling
  • Lots of travelling

Travel / Geography

  • By 2014, I had travelled to all of the 26 districts of Sri Lanka.

  • I've been to ~ 10 countries, and a few more in transit.

  • In 2017, I moved to France from Sri Lanka.

  • In 2018, I visited: Switzerland.

  • In 2019, I visited: Italy, Austria, Slovenia, Belgium, Netherlands and Germany.

  • The same year, I hitchiked from Lyon to Ljubljana and back.

  • In 2020, I visited: Sri Lanka, Maldives, Denmark, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands.

  • The same year, I biked solo from Roscoff to Les Sables-d'Olonne.

  • In 2021, there's still the pandemic, but I have hope. And when there's hope there are flights.

Fun facts

  • I haven't had a haircut in 3.5 years and counting.
  • I can locate nearly every country on a map.

I dream of

  • Innovation.
  • Imagining and creating the future.
  • World peace.